10 January 2020 0 By beheerder

The Hague, royal city and government city

The Hague is the capital of the province of South Holland. It is also the city where the Dutch government is housed and where over the years also quite a few members of the Court of Orange were housed. It is the third largest municipality in the Netherlands after Amsterdam and Rotterdam. The Hague is the largest city on the North Sea and has a total of just under 11 kilometers of coastline.

3 January 2020 0 By beheerder

Utrecht, the central heart of the Netherlands

Utrecht is the smallest province in the Netherlands and is also the historical and cultural heart of the Netherlands. Due to its central location, the province has always been an important province over the years. Utrecht is a very old province where people have settled for thousands of years. What is now called the Utrecht hillridge (Utrechtse heuvelrug) was one of the first areas where people settled.

31 December 2019 0 By beheerder

South Holland, the most built-up of all

South Holland is located on the south-west coast of the Netherlands and is the most built-up province in the country. With over 3.3 million inhabitants, this is the busiest and most densely populated province. Three-quarters of the county territory is cultivated. It is also the largest industrial area in the Netherlands with the extensive glasshouse horticulture of the Westland and the Rotterdam ports.